DeKalb Unveils Electric Vehicle Charging Stations

DeKalb Unveils Electric Vehicle Charging Stations
DeKalb County Interim CEO Lee May and Dist. 6
Commissioner Kathie Gannon look on as Charles
Mason, Assistant Director of DeKalb County Public Works
Department demonstrates the electric vehicle charging
station at DeKalb County Sanitation Division’s Central Transfer Station on Leroy Scott Drive in Decatur.
Photo by Dean Hesse


DeKalb County hosted a ribbon cutting ceremony at the Sanitation Division’s Central Transfer station to unveil one of the four electric vehicle charging stations now available for use by the public.


“We’re proud that DeKalb plays a leading role in Atlanta’s ranking as second in the nation for electric car ownership, and excited our residents can take part in our sustainability efforts and re-duced emissions by using these stations,” said DeKalb County Interim CEO Lee May.


Partial funding for the installation of three of the charging stations is provided through the Georgia Environmental Finance Authority’s (GEFA) “Georgia Charge” program, which allows for a 50 percent reimbursement of costs for the installation of electric car charging stations throughout the County.


The total cost of the stations is $37,494 and the amount reimbursed to the County for construction is $17,982. The other station, donated by Capital City Nissan in Chamblee, GA, is located at the DeKalb-Peachtree Airport. Plans to build a fifth County station at Seminole Road Landfill are under way, and construction should be complete within 60 days.
The dedicated alternating current (AC) Level II and direct current quick charging (DCQC) electric vehicle (EV) charging stations and associated parking stations are available for public use for any battery electric, plug-in hybrid and extended-range vehicles.


The charging stations are available during business hours at the following locations:


DeKalb County Government Administration Building
1300 Commerce Drive Decatur GA 30030


DeKalb County Fleet Maintenance Building
5350 Memorial Drive Stone Mountain GA 30083


DeKalb County Sanitation Division
Central Transfer Station
3720 Leroy Scott Drive Decatur GA 30032


DeKalb-Peachtree Airport
2000 Airport Road Atlanta GA 30341


ICEO Lee May said the county intends to add more electric vehicle charging stations in the future.


-Dean Hesse

Now Hiring
Monthly Archives